Columbia Engineering Faculty Honored

Oct 09 2018 | Photos by Timothy Lee Photographers

Columbia Engineering faculty gathered at Carleton Lounge September 24 to recognize recent achievements, welcome newcomers, and look forward to the busy year ahead.

“It is really a privilege and honor to be leading this faculty and to be a part of this community,” said Dean Mary C. Boyce, who noted that Columbia Engineering was named the best school for online graduate education this year by U.S. News & World Report. The publication also recently ranked the graduate program twelfth overall, giving it the top engineering slot in the Ivy League.

Top faculty accomplishments this past year include the election of Julia Hirschberg, the Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science, to the American Academy of the Arts and Sciences, and Mihalis Yannakakis, the Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science, to the National Academy of Sciences. Donald Goldfarb, Alexander and Hermine Avanessians Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, won the John von Neumann Theory Prize, and Bjarne Stroupstrup, Professor of Computer Science (visiting), won the Charles Stark Draper Prize.

Two faculty members received named professorships. Daniel Beinstock was named the Liu Family Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research (IEOR), and X. Edward Guo was named the Stanley Dicker Professor of Biomedical Engineering. Numerous faculty were honored with early career awards, including five assistant professors who received National Science Foundation CAREER Awards: Agostino Capponi (IEOR) Daniel Esposito (chemical engineering), Karen Kasza (mechanical engineering), Ioannis Kougioumtzoglou (civil engineering and engineering mechanics), and James Teherani (electrical engineering). Over the past four years, 17 Columbia Engineering faculty have won a NSF CAREER award.

The gathering also recognized those who have published books, won election to professional societies, held scholarly leadership positions, received teaching awards, or had their work translated to industry. Associate Dean Neil McClure outlined the array of awards and recognitions received; Senior Executive Vice Dean Shih-Fu Chang introduced new faculty members. In the past year, Columbia Engineering has welcomed 13 new hires, bringing to 87 the number of new faculty members joining across all ranks since 2014.


Stay up-to-date with the Columbia Engineering newsletter

* indicates required